Asher and Willis 470 European Champions

Nic Asher and Elliot Willis (GBR) flying to a World title, and have now added the 2008 European championship to their trophy cabinet
Reigning World Champions, Nic Asher and Elliot Willis are the new 470 European Champions. A fifth place in the final Medal race was enough to take them into Gold, despite the Dutch team of Sven and Kalle Coster winning the final race. The Netherlanders took Silver and Gideon Kliger and Udi Gal of Israel the Bronze.

Overall Open event winners were the treble World Champions, Aussie pair Nathan Wilmot and Malcom Page who finished second in the Medal race.

The wind was a fierce Force 7 with much colder conditions than normal for the time of the year. The 470 reveled in the high winds, although the short and deep chop made for difficult conditions with the boats sailing low in the water.

In the Women's event, Sylvia Vogl and Carolina Flatcher of Austria are the new 470 European Champions. Third in the Medal race they finished comfortable winners overall, ahead of the Swiss pair, Emanuella Rol and Anne-Sophie Thilo who took the Silver, with Paoili Dekleva and Maucec Klare Vesna of Slovinia taking the Bronze.

470 Men - Final leading scores - NA = non European

NA AUS Nathan Wilmot Malcolm Page 70 pts
1 GBR Nic Asher Elliot Willis 74 pts
2 NED Sven Coster Kalle Koster 77 pts
3 ISR Gideon Kliger Udi Gal 78 pts
NA ARG Javier Conte la Fuente Juan De 83 pts
4 GBR Nick Rogers Joe Glanfield 85 pts
5 FRA Pierre Leboucher Vincent Garos 92 pts
6 ISR Eyal Levine Amir Yam 93 pts
7 CRO Sime Fantela Igor Marenic 103 pts
NA KOR Cheul Yoon Hyeongtae Kim 111 pts
NA NZL Carl Evans Peter Burling 120 pts
8 GBR Luke Patience Chris Grube 123 pts
9 RUS Mikhail Sheremetyev Maxim Sheremetyev 131 pts
10 NED Steven LeFevre Steven Krol 136 pts

470 Women - Final leading scores - NA = non European

1 AUT Sylvia Vogl Carolina Flatscher 85 pts
2 SUI Emanuelle Rol Anne-Sophie Thilo 95 pts
NA AUS Elise Rechichi Tessa Parkinson 96 pts
3 SLO Paoili Dekleva Maucec Klara Vesna 103 pts
NA USA Amanda Clark Sarah Mergenthaler 108 pts
NA JPN Ai Kondo Naoko Kamata 111 pts
4 FRA Ingrid Petitjean Gwendolyn Lemaitre 112 pts
5 CZE Lenka Smidova Lenka Mrzilkova 136 pts
6 DEN Koch Henriette Lene Sommer 138 pts
7 FRA Camille Lecointre Mathilde Gayon 150 pts
8 ISR Nike Kornecki Vered Bouskila 149 pts
9 ESP Tara Pacheco Berta Betanzos 162 pts
NA ARG Maria Sesto Monsegur Consuleo Fernanda 163 pts
10 ESP Du-Fresne Via Tutzo Laia Natalia 163 pts