America's Cup Media Conference screening live on

BMW Oracle Racing’s base - venue for the announcement of the Protocol, Yaer and Boat for the 34th America’s Cup, Valencia 13 September 2010

On Monday September 13th, the America's Cup will receive a jolt of adrenaline with the release of a new vision and an exciting new class of boat for the 34th edition of the competition.

The vision is contained in the Protocol, a document agreed between the Defender (the Golden Gate Yacht Club with its BMW ORACLE Racing team) and the Challenger of Record (Club Nautico di Roma and its Mascalzone Latino team). The Protocol defines the terms, both sporting and commercial, of the next event.

In this case, following unprecedented consultation with potential teams, a study of best practice in other sports, and extensive media trials, through negotiation with the Challenger of Record, a series of progressive and imaginative changes is expected to result in the greatest transformation of one of the world's oldest international sporting competitions.

The AC72 Class will define an exciting, fast and demanding new boat for sailors and designers alike.

A press conference is scheduled for Monday 13th September at 1300 CET / 0700 EST / 0400 PST/ 2300 NZT / 2100 - BNE, SYD, MEL / 2030 ADE / 1900 PER when the Defender and Challenger of Record will reveal these changes, explain the thinking behind them, and sign the new Protocol. Additionally, the year of the 34th America's Cup Match will be confirmed.

The press conference will be streamed live, beginning at 1300 CET. To watch the live stream click the player below or if there are technical issues (overload), please visit: or

Watch live streaming video from 34thac at