Access Class Asia-Pacific Championships - Full program concludes

Ame Barnbrook & Matt Crawford (NSW) claimed the SKUD 18 trophies - 2013 Australian & Asia-Pacific Access Class Championships
David Staley - copyright
The 2013 Australian and Asia-Pacific Access Class Championships have concluded with a full program of eight races for each division conducted by Phil Yeomans and his race management team.

As it has for the past three days, a light and variable morning breeze was replaced by a moderate westerly in the early afternoon, providing excellent race conditions to finish off the regatta. The single person divisions were first on the water after the obligatory AP flag was lowered at 10:30.

Chris Ruston (QLD) completed a perfect scorecard in the Access 2.3 competition with Allister Peek (ACT) taking second place and Doug Monk (NSW) in third.

Tristan Nuemueller (SA) scored another two first places today to increase his margin over Stephen Churm (NSW) and Kazuhisa Takeda (JPN) in the Access 303 fleet.

In the Liberties, Bob Schahinger (SA) had a third and a first placing today to claim the overall win by a comfortable margin. There was much shuffling of places further down the fleet however, including a 1-2 score on the final day for Chris Riordan (VIC) enabling him to swap positions with Cadeyrn Gaskin (VIC) who finished the regatta in third.

The two person divisions enjoyed the building breeze in the early afternoon.

Jocelyn and Tristan Nuemueller (SA) did not sail the final race, but had built an 11 point lead to secure the championship trophy. Alyse Saxby and Bob Hamilton (NSW) had some placings they would rather forget, dropping them from second place yesterday to fourth. John Price and Lindsay Mason (NSW) moved up to second with 3-4 finishes and two race wins today by Nicholas Dukes and Bruce James (VIC) moved them up to third.

In the SKUD 18s, Ame Barnbrook and Matt Crawford (NSW) posted a 4-1 this afternoon to finish their championship with a two point advantage over Rob and Peter Crawford (NSW). Paralympic Gold Medalist Liesl Tesch sailing with Mark Thomson were third.

Regatta organiser Terry Peek emceed the presentation ceremony on the lawns of the Canberra Yacht Club, with trophies presented by Race Officer Phil Yeomans (NSW) and Jury Chairman John Grace (NZL).

Prizes were also awarded for Special Olympics sailors competing in the open event, with Allister Peek (ACT) winning the 2.3 division, Bronwyn Ibbotson (ACT) the 303 single person division, and Nicholas Dukes the 303 two person prize.

The 2014 Australian Championships will be held in South Australia.

Access Class website