ACT Flying Fifteen Championship - Excellent Conditions Prevail

ACT Flying Fifteen Championship Andrew Reed Matt Gleeson Howard Faulks and Matt Owen 6 October 2013 - ACT Flying Fifteen Championship
CYC Media CYC Media
Excellent conditions for sailing prevailed for the 45th ACT Flying Fifteen International Championship held on Lake Burley Griffin over Saturday fifth and Sunday October sixth 2013.

A format involving eight short races was a break from past practice of sailing a Series comprising up to five longer races. This format, coupled with favourable winds throughout resulted in some exciting and competitive racing with frequent changes of positions. All competitors enjoyed the new arrangements.

The Championship was won in emphatic style by Matt Owen and Andrew Reed sailing Deffcon 1 taking line honours in seven of the eight races. Second in the Championship were John Tracey and Craig Murphy sailing Wings while third place went to Robin Malpas and Duncan Jamieson sailing Super Snabb.

ACT FF Championship Start Race 8 - ACT Flying Fifteen Championship
CYC Media CYC Media

The securing of third and fourth places was in doubt until the final race with Glen Seeley and Guy Anderson sailing GT pushing Super Snabb all the way to the finish while Philip Parish and Les Kearney from the Mordialloc SC sailing Slyghtly Firmer were in with a chance until they were forced to retire, to finish sixth overall. Peter Forster and Stuart Allan sailing Relience ffeighteen put in a consistent and commendable performance to finish in fifth position, and also take out the Handicap prize.

ACT FF Championship Race 7 - ACT Flying Fifteen Championship
CYC Media CYC Media

Five yachts competed for the Silver Trophy which went to GT with Richard Hart and Ian Chapman in Force Majeure taking second and Bruce McLennan and Greg Beardmore in Maybe Ffiji in third place.

Presentation of trophies and prizes following the completion of the Championship was carried out by CYC Commodore Howard Faulks and FFI-ACT President Matt Gleeson. In addition to thanking all the participants, Matt made special mention of the volunteers who had helped ensure a very well-run and successful Championship.