420 UK Nationals at Pwllheli Sailing Club

62 boats arrived at Pwllheli Sailing Club to compete in the annual 420 British Open Championships being run from the 18 – 22 August. With the 420 Junior European Championships finishing on the previous Friday, it was a rush for some of the British and Irish boats to return on time. The British 420 Class also welcomed sailors from the USA.

Day 1

Provisions were made for dealing with the late arrival of the boats from Croatia. As it turned out, huge seas and strong winds, made racing impossible on Monday, enabling all the boats to complete registration in time for racing on Tuesday.

Day 2

Another wet and windy day in Wales. The wind dropped to around 12 knots, with gusts of 17 knots from the NE. After yesterday’s lack of racing, the team were looking forward to sailing all three scheduled races.

In race 1, after a number of black flag starts, Ben Saxton (Junior European Silver Medalist) sailing with Claire Lasko (ISAF 29er Gold medallist) won the first race with James (Junior European Bronze Medalist) and Will Rusden in second.

Matt Rainback and Simon Foskett were well on the pace and took third ahead of Peter Irwin and David Kohler. First ladies were Rebecca Kalderon and Rosie Sibthorp who finished in fifth.

The second race saw the top three swap places with Rainback/Foskett taking line honours with Saxton/Lasko in second. Rusden/Rusden took third with Irwin.Kohler again finishing in fourth. First ladies this time were Hermione Stanley/Hannah Mitchell in fifth.

The wind decreased and the sea state reduced as the day wore on. Phil Sparks and Ben Gratton showed their speed taking the win in race 3 ahead of Rusden/Rusden.

Saxton/Lasko continued with their consistent form to finish in third. Kalderon/Sibthorp recovered from a poor second race to finish in fourth with Irish girls Jane Butler/Jennifer Andreasson in fifth.

420 - Leading overall positions

1 GBR53303 Ben Saxton, Claire Lasko 1,2,3 6 pts
2 GBR53158 James Rusden, Williams Rusden 2,3,2 7 pts
3 GBR53229 Peter Irwin, David Kohler 4,4,9 17 pts
4 GBR 52759 Phil Sparks, Ben Gratton 6,11,1 18 pts
5 GBR 52426 Tom Kinver, Charlie Makepeace 7,7,6 20 pts
6 GBR53232 Matt Rainback, Simon Foskett 3,1,22 26 pts