420 Leinster Championships - Hyland and Staunton victorious

by ISA 
Hyland and Staunton victorious at 420 Leinster Championships
David Branigan - Oceansport.ie
Following the conclusion of six races in blustery conditions on the Broadmeadows in Malahide, Adam Hyland and Bill Staunton (RSGYC/SSC) took the Curradinghy-sponsored 420 Leinster title from Robert Dickson and Sean Waddilove (HYC/SSC) by virtue of two race wins.

Hyland and Staunton won the fourth and fifth races to edge out their northside rivals who were second in four races.

The Malahide cousins Lizzy and Cara McDowell also had a consistent series and also won the third race to finish third overall, a point ahead of the Royal S George YC sisters Kate and Alanna Lyttle.

Best placed of the silver fleet was Philip McDowell and Cian Buckley of the host club in seventh overall.

Taking the two best results from three events – the Munster Championships, ISA Youth Nationals and the Leinster Championships, the following ten crews have qualified for the 420 Worlds in the following order:

Hyland / Staunton
Dickson / Waddilove
McCann / Walsh (RCYC)
Whittaker / Whittaker (RCYC)
Lyttle / Lyttle
McDowell / McDowell
McMahon / O’Sullivan
Ni Shulleabhan / McGinley (KYC/RCYC)
McDowell / Buckley
Lee / Jordan (GBSC/HYC)

The first seven crews also qualified for the Junior European Championships.

ISA website